Shirley Kessel

Executive director

Shirley is the mom of three daughters, two of whom live with migraine. When her youngest daughter Sydney became diagnosed at an early age, they both decided that it was time to take action to bring awareness and raise money for migraine research. They contacted Eileen Jones, who founded the Miles for Migraine race in San Francisco, and brought the race to the Philadelphia community in 2013. She became the Executive Director in 2017 when it became apparent that Miles for Migraine should take the race series around the USA.


Eileen Jones, RN, PHN

Founder and Past President

Eileen is the Founder of Miles for Migraine and served as President from 2008 – 2016. A migraine patient herself for many years, she started the nonprofit organization after a 2007 visit to Congress, along with mostly headache disorders physician research specialists from across the US, to advocate for the acute need for migraine research funding from the National Institues of Health (NIH). That group formalized into the Alliance for Headache Disorders Advocacy, where Eileen is a founding board member, and returns annually at their own expense to ask Congressional representatives…


Janet Corroo, RN

Vice President
Clinical Nurse, USCF Headache Center

Janet Corroo is a clinical nurse for the UCSF Headache Center caring for adults and children with headache. Janet’s role is to support the physician’s inpatient and outpatient patient care activities. Ms. Corroo is dedicated to improving the lives of the patients beyond her role as the Clinical Nurse, and is committed to working with Miles for Migraine in developing programs such as the Migraine Youth Camp.


Kenneth Jones, MBA

Senior Vice President - Health System Affiliates, UCSF Health

Kenneth M. Jones, UCSF Health’s Senior Vice President, having previously worked as Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer of UCSF Medical Center. He joined the organization in 2001. Prior to that, he served as Vice President of Cain Brothers and Company, LLC, in San Francisco and was President and Chief Executive Officer of Summit Hospital in Oakland.


Morris Levin, MD

Board Member

Dr. Levin is a professor in the UCSF Department of Neurology, and is the Director of the UCSF Headache Center. He is board certified in Neurology, with additional qualification in Pain Medicine (ABPN), and is board certified in Headache Medicine (UCNS) as well.

He has authored a number of medical journal articles and textbook chapters in the areas of headache and pain, and is the author of...


William Young, MD, FAHS

Board Member

Dr. William Young is a neurologist at the Jefferson Headache Center. He received his medical degree from Penn State College of Medicine and has been in practice for 30 years. The Jefferson Headache Center is one of a very few academic headache centers in the country. The Center, founded in 1982, specializes in the treatment of patients with all types of headache pain. Dr. Young is the President of the Alliance for...


Amaal J. Starling, MD

Board Member

Dr. Amaal J. Starling is an Assistant Professor of Neurology in the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine. She joined Mayo in 2012 and is currently a consultant within the Department of Neurology.

Dr. Starling received her M.D. degree from Drexel University College of Medicine in Philadelphia. She completed a Transitional Year...